"I shall rather die than betray my


         -Pawan Chamling, The Chief Minister of Sikkim



                  Pawan Chamling : A Politician, social Worker, Poet and a writer was Born on September 22,1950 at Yangang South Sikkim. He joined politics in 1973 and was elected to Sikkim Legislative assembly in 1985. He was Minister for Industries, Information and Public Relations from 1989 to 1992. He formed the Sikkim Democratic Front party on March 4, 1993 and has been Chief Minister of Sikkim for the four consecutive term.

NAME Dr. Pawan Chamling
NAME OF CONSTITUENCY Damthang/Poklok Kamrang
FATHER'S NAME Shri Aash Bahadur Chamling
MOTHER'S NAME Smt. Aasha Rani Chamling
DATE OF BIRTH September 22, 1950
PLACE OF BIRTH Yangang, South Sikkim.
NUMBER OF CHILDREN Daughters - 4 Sons - 4
EDUCATIONAL QUALIFICATION PhD (honoris cousa), Manipal University, 2003.
PROFESSION (PREVIOUS) Government Contractor (Class 1 unlimited).
PERMANENT ADDRESS Ghurbisey, Namchi, South Sikkim.
PRESENT ADDRESS   Mintokgang, Gangtok, Sikkim (Residence), 
OFFICIAL ADDRESS   Chief Minister’s Secretariat, Tashiling, Gangtok, Sikkim
PHONE NUMBER (OFFICE) 03592 – 202575
PHONE NUMBER (RESIDENCE) 03592 - 202536, 202304, 221122
E-mail  cm-skm@hub.nic.in
Web site www.pawan-chamling.org


1985-89, MLA & Chairman, Sikkim Distilleries Ltd.
1989-92, Minister for Industries, IPR & Printing Department.
Chief Minister of Sikkim from 12th December 1994 till date.



Prominent contribution in the movement towards recognition of Nepali Language in the 8th schedule of Indian Constitution.
A pioneer in the promotion of cooperative movement in Sikkim.
Significant involvement in the cultural and intellectual discourses spanning the last four decades.
Formed Nirman Prakashan in 1977.
Chief Editor- Nirman quarterly magazine
A prolific writer, poet and thinker.
FAVOURITE PASTIME & RECREATION                         Reading, writing and social works.


Chintan Purashkar, 1987 presented by Sikkim Sahitya Parishad for his poem “Maile samjheko samjhana-ma kati kati, being published in the Annual literary magazine Chintan
Bharat Siromani 1996  presented by Shiromani Foundation, New Delhi on March 5, 1997 “for his outstanding contribution to integrate the people of Sikkim with the rest of the country, for endeavouring to bring them in the  national mainstream and for reinforcing democratic system in Sikkim”.
Greenest Chief Minister of India, 1998  presented by Centre for Science and Environment, New Delhi for his outstanding contribution towards Nature conservation measures undertaken in the Country.
Man of the Year, 1998     presented by Biographical Institute, USA for “his outstanding accomplishment to date and the noble example he has set for this peers and entire community”
Manav Seva Purashkar, 1999  presented by Institute of Economic Studies, New Delhi for his “rare vision in bringing about far-reaching changes in the quality of life for poor …….. championing the cause of the Sikkimese  people and downtrodden specially upliftment of women rights and child welfare …
Poets’ Foundation Award, Kolkata, 2002   presented by POETS FOUNDATION, Kolkata “for his lifetime achievement in literature” for 2001.
Doctor of Philosophy (honoris causa), 2003 Honour given by Sikkim Manipal University for “his vision, leadership and contribution in the field of social upliftment of weaker sections, backward classes and all round development of Sikkim.”

Leadership and Good Governance Award,2009

Presented by the Universal Peace Federation on July 6, 2009 to Shri Pawan Chamling for manifesting “the highest standard of excellence in leadership, integrating professional excellence and practical experience with moral and spiritual wisdom.
Bhanu Puraskar, 2010 Given by Sikkim Sahitya Parishad for his long time ‘special contribution towards preservation and development of literature, arts and culture’ on July 13, 2010.
Thekong Ambassador of Peace 2010 Conferred by the Pang Lhabsol Committee for ‘his inspiring efforts to unite the bonds of peace and harmony between the different communities of Sikkim’
Bharat Asmita Jeevan Gaurav Puraskar 2012 Bharat Asmita Foundation, MIT Group of Institutions, Pune under Bharat Asmita Rashtriya Puraskar, 2012

Other Awards received by the Chief Minister



1995 Balraj Sahani National Award.
1996 Secular India harmony Award.
1998 Pride of India Gold Award
1999 Outstanding Man of the 20th Century
1999 Man of the Year (ABI).
1999 Indo Nepal Friendship & Economic Cooperation
1999 Man of Dedication Manav Sewa Puraskar
1999 Secular India Harmony Award- 1998
1999 Rashtriya Ekta Purashkar
1999 Gold Star Award.
1999 International Man of the Millennium.
1999 ABI Gold Record of Achievement for 1999.
1999 Best Citizen of India.
2000 The ABI Laurels for Dedicated Personal Attainment (World Laureate of the ABI).
2000 Outstanding Speaker Award by IBC
2000 2000 Outstanding Intellectuals of the 20th Century.
2000 Outstanding man of 20th Century & Millennium Medal of Honor.
2000 Commemorative Medal of Honor, Hallmark.
2000 Man of the Year-2000.
2000 Gold Star Award-A Symbol of Outstanding Achievement.
2000 Sahitya Sanskar Samman.
2000 One-in-a-Million Award.
2000 Platinum record for exceptional performance by ABI.
2000 Jawaharlal Nehru Excellence Award by Institute of Economic studies.
2000 International Medal of Vision
2000 Seva Ratna Award by Indian Board of Alternative Medicines.
2000 International order of marit by IBC.
2000 American Order of Excellence.
2001 Outstanding man of 21st Century by ABI
2001 International Personality of the Year by IBC.
2001 Universal Award of accomplishment by ABI
2001 Man of the Year.
2001 Induction into the 2002-2003 Issue of Leading Intellectuals of the World.
2001 American Medal of Honour.
2001 Presidential Seal of Honour 2001.
2001 2001 Noble Prize for outstanding achievement and contributions to Humanity of the United Cultural Convention (UCC), USA.
2001 The International Biographical Centre Lifetime Achievement Award.
2001 Life time achievement award by IBC.
2002 Outstanding Man of the 21st Century.
2002 American Medal of Honor.
2002  Vikas Shiromani Puraskar by institute of Economic studies.
2002 National Citizen’s Award.
Oct 11,2003 Doctor of Philosophy (honoris causa) from the Manipal University.
2005 Man of Achievement.
2005 State’s Impressive Performance Award by the India Today conclave of Chief Ministers.
2005 Best state award in education by India Today Group.
2005 1st Bharat Gauarv Award & Patronship.
2006 Award for Best Eco-Tourism Destination
2006 American Medal of Honour.
2006 7th Best in the Country according to Galileo Travel World’s Awards.
2006 Best performance state by India Today Group.
2007 National Tourism Awards 2005-06.
2009 Leadership and Good Governance Award by the Universal Peace Federation
2009 Bharat Nirman Award for Best Small State in Rural Roads
2009 Bharat Nirman Award for Best Small State in E-governance
2009 Bharat Nirman Award for Best Small State in Rural Electrification
2009 Bharat Nirman Award for Best Small State in Education
2009 Diamond State award best in a small state category for ‘Water and Sanitation’ and also bagged special first top five states award



   Send mail to Designer with questions or comments about this web site.
Copyright © 2009 Goverment of Sikkim, All rights Reserved,